Pagan at Heart

At peace with myself and the world… or at least headed that way

Archive for the month “April, 2013”

Too funny!

How very beautiful!

Pagans & Christians

Pagans & Christians

I Don’t Want Stuff Anymore, Only Things

I Don’t Want Stuff Anymore, Only Things

Something I’m working towards as well, but it’s a long, slow process.

I Don’t Speak Human

Looking Back & Moving Forward

There was once a time when I practically hated all things religious and all things spiritual. I was angry and bitter after spending the first 20 or so years of my life in fundamental Christianity. The day the blindfold came off, I began realizing the many the things I had learned, seen, been part of, and had done to me that were wrong. The lies, the imposed guilt, the many options I should have had but didn’t because of my upbringing. The many evils done in the name of my former religion that had been swept under the rug by fellow Christians. So very many things crossed my mind and fueled my anger.

As I look back, I realize my anger was one of the five steps of loss and grief. The five stages are denial and isolation, anger, bargaining, depression, and acceptance (I pulled my list and quote from this site). They don’t necessarily occur in a specific order and you can move through them several times. I’m going to list the stages in the order that I experienced them.

Before I officially renounced my faith, I went through the first stage of denial and isolation. Read more…

My Defining Moment

Asatru Children’s ABC’s

bay witch musings

Now, I am not Heathen, but my good forum friend ThorsSon was for quite a long time, and he wrote this and gave me permission to post it.  Whether or not you are Heathen, its some interesting mythology (a good kids myth source for Norse mythology is D’Aulaires’ Book of Norse Myths).

Edited to add (5May13): Just came across this awesome post in my reader with some other resources.


Asatru Children’s ABC’s

A is for Asgard, where the Gods spend their day.
B is for Bifrost, between the worlds it lay.

C is for Courage, the strength to overcome fear.
D is for Day, she follows Night throughout the year.

E is for Embla, the mother of us all.
F is for Freyja, chooser of those who fall.

G is for Gungnir, from its course it never strays.
H is for Heimdall, his horn, Gjallar, he plays.


View original post 176 more words

I is for the Declaration of Interdependence

Nature is Sacred

This we know…
We are the earth, through the plants and animals that nourish us.
We are the rains and the oceans that flow through our veins.
We are the breath of the forests of the land, and the plants of the sea.
We are human animals, related to all other life as descendants of the firstborn cell.
We share with these kin a common history, written in our genes.
We share a common present, filled with uncertainty.
And we share a common future, as yet untold.
We humans are but one of thirty million species weaving the thin layer of life enveloping the world.
The stability of communities of living things depends upon this diversity.
Linked in that web, we are interconnected — using, cleansing, sharing and replenishing the fundamental elements of life.
Our home, planet Earth, is finite; all life shares its resources and the energy from the…

View original post 262 more words


Greek goddess of the wild places, childbirth, and the crossroads; associated with magic and witchcraft

Post Navigation